Home > Books, Articles & More > Reference & Databases
Reference & Databases
- Databases requiring an Orcas Island Library Card
- Free Public-access Databases
- Government Information Sources page
- Homework Help page
Databases requiring an Orcas Island Library Card
InfoTrac
InfoTrac is a full-text database produced by Thomson Gale. It features a wide variety of content from academic journals and general magazines. The one of the best-known databases in the InfoTrac line is General OneFile, a collection of more than 11,000 general interest magazines.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode.
Cross-Searchable Databases
ProQuest
ProQuest LLC is an Ann Arbor, Michigan-based electronic publisher and microfilm publisher. It provides archives of sources such as newspapers, periodicals, dissertations, and aggregated databases of many types. Its content is estimated at 125 billion digital pages. Our databases include: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; Alt-Press Watch; Discovery; Ethnic NewsWatch; Platinum Full Text Periodicals; ProQuest Newspapers.
To access this web site please enter the last 6 digits of your library card barcode.
Ancestry.com In Library Use Only
Ancestry.com is the world's largest online resource for family history, with almost one million paying subscribers around the world as of June 30, 2009. It has been a leader in the family history market for over 20 years and has helped pioneer the market for online family history research.
Auto Repair Reference Center
The Auto Repair Reference Center database includes automotive repair information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Database content includes more than 33,800 vehicles covered from 1945 to present, nearly 800,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 83,200 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 99,800 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator; AutoIQ, Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance. New repair procedures and updates are continually added to the product. All of the content in Auto Repair Reference Center has been created by ASE certified technicians
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode
Consumer Reports
The online site for Consumer Reports magazine. Consumer Reports is published by Consumers Union. It publishes reviews and comparisons of consumer products and services based on reporting and results from its in-house testing laboratory. It also publishes cleaning and general buying guides. It has approximately 4 million subscribers and an annual testing budget of approximately $21 million.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode.
Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior's mission is to promote understanding for the earth and her people by providing educational products that lower informational barriers. It seeks to foster international trade as a tool for enhancing the quality of life for the global community by becoming a premier worldwide provider of practical trade, communication, logistics and country data to individuals, businesses, organizations, and governments.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
To access this web site please enter the last 6 digits of your library card barcode.
Free Public-access Databases
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Homework Help page
A page full of links to internet resources that will help students complete school assignments.
Hoover's Business Information
Hoover's is a Dun & Bradstreet Company product that puts you on the fastest path to business. It delivers comprehensive insight and analysis about the companies, industries, and people that drive the economy, along with the powerful tools to find and connect to the right people to get business done
Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library is a global information community that provides in-service learning and volunteer opportunities for library and information science students and professionals, offers a collaborative research forum, and supports and enhances library services through the provision of authoritative collections, information assistance, and information instruction for the public.
Orcas Island Historical Museum
The Orcas Island Historical Museum is unique in being the only object-based, interpretive heritage facility for the island, with a permanent collection comprised of approximately 6000 objects, paper documents and photographs.
Washington Rural Heritage
Washington Rural Heritage is a collection of historic materials documenting the early culture, industry, and community life of Washington State. The collection is an ongoing project of small, rural libraries and partnering cultural institutions, guided by an initiative of the Washington State Library. The initiative provides the infrastructure and training to both digitize and serve unique collections to a widespread audience.
Visit the Orcas Island Heritage page here.
