? Orcas Island Library | Reference & Databases

Home > Books, Articles & More > Reference & Databases

Reference & Databases

Databases requiring an Orcas Island Library Card

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO caters to the information needs of researchers at every level by providing libraries with the content and services needed to bring the latest and best information to researchers.

Available databases from EBSCO:

Choose one of the databases below by clicking on its name.
To access these databases from your home computer please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode when prompted.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports (CR) is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves. The organization was founded in 1936.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode when prompted.

ProQuest

ProQuest provides archives of sources such as newspapers, periodicals, dissertations, and aggregated databases of many types.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode when prompted.

 

ProQuestQuick Start Reference Overview | ProQuest User Guide

Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone Inc. provides cutting-edge interactive technology that is changing the way the world learns. The company's proprietary language-learning techniques—acclaimed for their power to unlock the natural language-learning ability in everyone—are used by schools, businesses, government organizations and millions of individuals around the world. Rosetta Stone offers courses in 30 languages, from the most commonly spoken (like English, Spanish and Mandarin) to the less prominent (including Swahili, Swedish and Tagalog).
To access Rosetta Stone please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode in the form window below.

Orcas Island Library Card Number:

Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior's mission is to promote understanding for the earth and her people by providing educational products that lower informational barriers.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode when prompted.

Oxford English Dictionary Online

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
To access this web site please enter your entire 14-digit library card barcode when prompted.

Inside Library Use Only Databases

These databases can only be accessed using a Library computer or through the Library's wireless network.

American Physical Society Journals [In Library Use Only]

The journals of the APS embody the mission of the Society "to advance and diffuse the knowledge of Physics."

Ancestry.com [In Library Use Only]

Ancestry.com is the world's largest online resource for family history.

Foundation Directory Online [In Library Use Only]

Foundation Directory Online is the nation's leading online funding research tool, developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization founded over 50 years ago to help open U.S. foundations to public view.
To access this web site please ask a library staff person to log you in.

Free Public-access Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Homework Help page

A page full of links to internet resources that will help students complete school assignments.

Hoover's Business Information

Hoover's is a Dun & Bradstreet Company product that puts you on the fastest path to business.

Internet Public Library

The Internet Public Library is a global information community.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends.

National Agricultural Library

The National Agricultural Library houses is the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

National Library of Medicine

The National Library of Medicine is the world's largest medical library.

Oxford Journals Online

Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. OUP publish over 300 journals in the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, two-thirds of which are published in partnership with learned and professional societies.

ThomasNet

ThomasNet is an industrial search engine that provides one source for finding the exact product, service, or supplier quickly and efficiently.

World Digital Library

The World Digital Library is a collaborative international project and Carnegie Corporation grantee led by the Library of Congress. It now includes more than 10,000 manuscripts, maps and atlases, books, prints and photographs, films, sound recordings, and other cultural treasures.

Local History Resources

Local Newspapers: The Islander [1891-1898] and The San Juan Islander [1898 - 1914]

Early editions of The Islander and The San Juan Islander are provided by Chronicling America. Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). It is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Orcas Island Historical Museum

The Orcas Island Historical Museum is the object-based, interpretive heritage facility for the Island. Its permanent collection has approximately 6000 objects, paper documents and photographs.

Washington Rural Heritage

Washington Rural Heritage is a collection of historic materials documenting the early culture, industry, and community life of Washington State. The collection is an ongoing project of small, rural libraries and partnering cultural institutions, guided by an initiative of the Washington State Library.

Visit the Orcas Island Heritage page here.

©orcas island library district